Crochet Cricket

My Daily Crochet Adventures

Ocean Waves Baby Blanket

2 Comments

I am finished! Well nearly finished I still have to sew in my tails but it is finished enough for my weekly update!

What do you think?

crochet ocean waves baby blanket made by crochet cricketThis is a free pattern from Red Heart Yarn. Just search ‘ocean wave’.

I decided that I wanted to try to square the blanket. So I didn’t just sc around. I did a mix of sc,hdc,dc,tr. And it came out pretty square.

ocean waves baby blanket made by crochet cricketYou can see that I decided to use the brown for the border. It balances the blanket nicely.

ocean waves baby blanket made by crochet cricketSorry that we didn’t have a large area for me to lay out the blanket. At least not one with natural light. This is my second baby blanket. The first one was a very small granny square blanket that was actually my first project. I have come a long way since then. I am very proud of this blanket.

It will be a gift for my new nephew due this fall.

The only tips I can give for this blanket it use a smaller hook. I would definitely use a 5 mm hook if I choose to make another blanket. I just would have liked it to be a little tighter.

Hope you guys enjoy this post. Have a great day!

Cricket

 

©2013 Photos by Crochet Cricket. They may only be shared with a direct link to this blog post. Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Ocean Waves Baby Blanket

  1. Your baby blanket is gorgeous, and I know what you mean about using the 5mm hook, as I crocheted an Ocean Waves Throw last month, and I used that size, which as you said, does make the pattern tighter – and much better to look at 🙂

    Seeing how well your baby blanket turned out, I might do the same pattern for one of the 3 babies I’m making blankets for – they’re due this winter, so it gives me plenty of time to have a go, too 🙂

    • Thank you Katy for the kind comments 🙂 I am making a granny stripe as well that I should have finished next week. Both blankets are for baby boys. Have fun making your baby blankets. And feel free to share your blanket photos on our Facebook page. I’d love to see them!

      Have a nice day 😀

Leave a Reply

